The NewsGuild of Greater Philadelphia

Town Hall

NewsGuild

Racial injustice in our newsrooms: Creating change

Town Hall June 18, 7 p.m. ET
(4 p.m. PT, 5 p.m. MT, 6 p.m. CT)

All NewsGuild-CWA members are welcome.

Recent weeks have seen truly historic upheaval and uprisings in the streets – and in many newsrooms.

The NewsGuild will convene a Town Hall meeting on Thursday, June 18, at 7 p.m. ET, to discuss racial injustice and insensitivity in our shops – and how to fight it.

Join us to hear from NewsGuild members who helped organize the inspiring resistance at the New York Times, the Philadelphia Inquirer and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, and others involved in the battle for justice.

Panelists:
Chao Xiong, a reporter at the Minneapolis Star-Tribune who covered the protests extensively.  A law enforcement officer fired rubber bullets at the car he was riding in, striking the side of the vehicle.

Jazmine Hughes, who helped organize a rebellion after the New York Times published an op-ed by Sen. Tom Cotton titled, “Send in the Troops.”

Jonathan Lai and Michaelle Bond, who helped draft a letter of protest and organized journalists of color to call in “sick and tired” after management at the Philadelphia Inquirer published an article with an offensive, racist headline.

Alexis Johnson, Michael M. Santiago and Zack Tanner, who challenged the decision by management at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette to  bar them from covering George Floyd protests after she posted a satirical tweet and he posted messages of solidarity.

Nader Issa, a reporter at the Chicago Sun-Times, who helped negotiate ground-breaking diversity language in a contract signed this spring.

Adrian Harewood, a News Anchor at Ottawa News @ 6 and host of Our Ottawa, a weekly TV current affairs magazine in Canada.

After brief presentations, participants will be invited to ask questions and share their views on how to advance the fight for justice at work and in the Guild.

I hope you will join the conversation.

In solidarity,

Jon Schleuss
President
The NewsGuild-CWA

Register HERE.
A link for the event will be sent Thursday, June 18.

The NewsGuild – CWA

501 Third St., NW, 6th floor
Washington, DC 20001

newsguild.org

Facebook

Twitter

The NewsGuild, Communications Workers of America, AFL-CIO, CLC.